The Queen’s Beasts Series | The Royal Mint

The Queen's Beasts Collection

The Queen's Beasts Collection

When Her Majesty The Queen was crowned on 2 June 1953, ten statues were created to form a guard of honour at the entrance to Westminster Abbey. The Queen’s Beasts Collection breathes new life into these mighty creatures that represent the British monarchy, and the series continues with the White Horse of Hanover. This beast represents the history of the Hanoverian family – including The Queen’s ancestor George III, whose reign we are also celebrating on the 200th anniversary of his death.

Just like his predecessors, George III embraced his ancient heraldry and retained the White Horse within his Coat of Arms. You can see this detail within the elaborate shield that the White Horse holds, in the coin’s reverse created by coin designer Jody Clark.

Recommended Products

The Queen's Beasts

Queen's Beasts Accessories

Shop Now



Available on
Which Beast would you invest in?



Discover The Queen's Beasts Collection

Behind the Queen's Beasts design with Jody Clark

Read more

The Coronation Beasts

Read more

back to top