View Catalogue
Shop now

This set contains the following coin sets:

Charles II 1679 Maundy Set

James II 1687 Maundy Set

William & Mary 1694 Maundy Set

William III 1701 Maundy Set

Anne 1713 Maundy Set

George I 1727 Maundy Set

George II 1732 Maundy Set

George III 1800 Maundy Set

George IV 1829 Maundy Set

William IV 1837 Maundy Set

Victoria 1875 Maundy Set Young head

Victoria 1892 Maundy Set Jubilee head

Victoria 1897 Maundy Set old head

Edward VII 1902 Maundy Set

George V 1918 Maundy Set

George VI 1946 Maundy Set

Elizabeth II 1958 Maundy Set young head


Maundy money refers to the coins given to elderly people by the monarch in a ceremony that drew inspiration from the Bible when Jesus Christ washed the feet of his disciples on the day before Good Friday. The first Maundy money ceremony took place in the reign of Charles II, when the king gave people undated hammered coins in 1662. The coins, struck especially for the occasion, were a four penny, three penny, two penny and one penny piece. In 1670 the king began giving out a dated set of all four coins.

Maundy money has remained much the same since 1670, with the coins used for the Maundy ceremony traditionally being struck in sterling silver. A Maundy set still consists of four small silver coins, but in 1971, at the time of decimalisation, the face values of the coins were changed from old to new pence.


Feefo logo