Board of Directors

Graham Love*

Graham was appointed to the board on 1 January 2019 and has previously chaired a number of successful businesses, including LGC, Eversholt Rail, SLR Consulting and Xendo. Prior to pursuing a plural career, Graham had an extensive international executive career, lastly as Chief Executive of QinetiQ plc from 2005 to 2009. He is a long-term trustee of STEMNET and a Senior Adviser to The Chertoff Group. Graham is a graduate of Cambridge University, a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, and a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society

Xenia Carr-Griffiths*

Xenia was appointed to the Board of The Royal Mint as a Non-Executive Director in October 2013. She is a graduate of Durham University and has more than 30 years of experience in the retail and luxury consumer brands space. Xenia has been a main Board Director of Harrods Ltd, and subsequently President of EMEA Links (London) Ltd where she developed a multichannel, international business.


Michael Clayforth-Carr*

Michael Clayforth-Carr began his career as an engineer with Rolls-Royce and has more than 30 years of experience in international sales, marketing and general management, holding senior positions with companies such as De La Rue plc and Bell & Howell. He is currently UK Executive Vice President for the Security and Information Systems Division, and Chairman of an international arm of a major international aerospace, security and defence company. Michael has been the Chair of a number of security related councils, including Chair of the Security Sector Advisory Group for UKTI, and he is currently an elected security adviser on the ADS Trade Association Council. Michael holds an MSc in Design Engineering from Cranfield, an MBA from Cranfield School of Management, and is a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society.

Jamie Carter*

Jamie has worked as an Executive Director for UK Government Investments since October 2016, where he also leads the teams managing the government’s shareholding in the British Business Bank and the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority. Prior to joining UKGI, he spent more than 10 years at Her Majesty’s Treasury where he specialised in public spending, including being involved in several spending reviews and infrastructure policy. During this period, Jamie took a two-year career break to work as a Governance Specialist at the World Bank based in Jakarta.


David Morgan*

David has had wide-ranging board and senior management experience in a number of industries. Having trained as a chartered accountant with KPMG, he then spent more  than 20 years with Johnson Matthey plc, a global precious metals and chemicals business, and was Executive Director for Corporate Development from 1999 to 2009. He is a Non-Executive Director of Nord Gold NV and of Hargreaves Services plc, as well as a number of other companies both public and private. His career has involved both general and financial management and he has had M&A experience in all parts of the world. David was appointed to The Royal Mint’s Board in September 2013.

Bill Spencer*

Bill was appointed to the Board of The Royal Mint as a Non-Executive Director on 18 May 2020. He is currently also a Non-Executive Director and the Audit Committee Chairman at Ricardo plc. Bill began his non-executive career more than ten years ago and has wide-ranging experience, having been the Senior Independent Non-Executive Director and Audit Committee Chairman at Northgate plc and Exova plc. He was also previously a Non-Executive Director and the Audit Committee Chairman of UK Mail Group plc and was a Non-Executive Finance Committee Member at the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors. A significant part of Bill’s executive career was spent at Intertek Group plc, a FTSE 100 company, where he was the Chief financial Officer for 15 years. Prior to that he held a number of senior financial positions in the manufacturing, technology and utilities sectors. Bill has a BSc from the University of Manchester, is a member of the Association of Corporate Treasurers, and is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants.


Cheryl Toner*

Cheryl was appointed to the Board of The Royal Mint in March 2019. She has more than 25 years of experience in marketing and communications and is currently Marketing Director, Personal Banking at RBS. Prior to this, Cheryl was CMO at AXA UK where particular areas of focus were building a trusted brand and using digital to improve customer experience. Cheryl is a graduate of University College London and holds an MBA from Cranfield School of Management.

Andrew Mills

Andrew is Director of Circulating Coin Sales. He joined the Royal Mint in 2009 from OpSec Security Limited where he was Managing Director and led a successful turnaround of the European business. Prior to 2004, he held sales and marketing positions with De La Rue, ICI, and Kodak, including an assignment in the United States with Eastman Kodak Company.


Anne Jessopp

Anne Jessopp has significant experience in leading cultural change, manufacturing and growing new business, which was gained at some of the UK’s biggest firms, including Procter and Gamble, RAC and Rolls-Royce. Since joining The Royal Mint in 2008 Anne has held several positions on the Board, including HR Director and Director of Consumer, and has been a spearhead for the reinvention of the business.  Under Anne’s leadership The Royal Mint has remained the world’s leading export mint, while successfully diversifying into investment products, collector services and a visitor attraction. A particular passion during her career has been working with companies who are developing their culture and undergoing significant change. As a result, The Royal Mint is now delivering its strategy of reinvention, while retaining its unique heritage as The Original Maker of meaningful products and services.

Martin McDade

Martin is Director of Finance for The Royal Mint. He is an experienced, qualified Accountant (FCCA) with more than 30 years of experience gained in several senior positions with Playtex, Biwater, Glenfield Valves and AVK. Five years of this time was spent as Finance Director in an MBI team funded by Venture Capitalists (3i/SDF). He has extensive commercial knowledge, which was gained in the manufacturing sector, and joined The Royal Mint in 2006 as its Financial Controller. He then went on to become Head of Finance within Commemorative Coin in 2010.


Nicola Howell

Nicola joined The Royal Mint in 2012 as Head of Direct to Consumer, progressing to become Director of the Consumer division in 2018, and Chief Commercial Officer in 2020. With a background in the financial and healthcare sectors, Nicola brings a wealth of experience in leadership, sales and operations which have helped to grow The Royal Mint’s Consumer division in the UK and overseas. As Chief Commercial Officer, Nicola oversees strategy, revenue and operations for the Consumer and Precious Metal divisions – delivering the reinvention of the business by attracting more customers to collect, invest and celebrate with The Royal Mint. Nicola is recognised within the UK Finance and Leasing Association (FLA) and Florida State Business School for financial brokerage (FMB).



find out more


find out more
Feefo logo