Outer: Nickel-brass (76% copper, 4% nickel, 20% zinc)
|Obverse Designer||Ian Rank-Broadley FRBS|
|Reverse Designer||Joe Whitlock Blundell with David Eccles|
|Edge Inscription||SERVING THE MARINER|
Trinity House was formed by Royal Charter under Henry VIII in 1514. The organisation was tasked with improving the safety of Britain’s waterways and for 500 years Trinity House has tirelessly served the mariner. To honour the 500th Anniversary of this respected organisation, a £2 coin entered circulation.
The reverse features a design by Joe Whitlock Blundell, Production Director of The Folio Society, created with the help of David Eccles, a retired illustrator and printer. It captures the spirit of Trinity House with an enduring symbol of the seas – the lighthouse.
The first base metal £2 coin was issued in the United Kingdom in 1986 to commemorate the Thirteenth Commonwealth Games which was held in Scotland. Commemorative £2 coins continued to be issued in single colour nickel-brass for special occasions. After a review of the United Kingdom’s coinage in 1994, it emerged that there was a requirement for a circulating £2 coin. A consultation process took place with the vending machine industry, members of the public and special interest groups such as the RNIB and Age Concern. The consensus of opinion from the consultation favoured a bicolour coin because it would be easily distinguishable from the other coins in circulation. The bimetallic £2 coin was launched on 15 June 1998 and millions were released into circulation.