11 Jul 2014
Now available – commemorating the 500th anniversary of Trinity House
It is easy to take for granted the life at sea that makes import, trade and the protection of the British Isles possible, yet 500 years ago both life and cargo would have been endangered regularly on inland waterways and at sea. In 1514 a guild of seafarers successfully petitioned King Henry VIII for licence to establish a fraternity of mariners, ‘…so that they might regulate the pilotage of ships in the King's streams.’
The Corporation of Trinity House of Deptford Strond was incorporated by Royal Charter in 1514 and has served mariners for more than 500 years. With around 95% of the goods imported to the United Kingdom arriving by sea, and nearly one million amateur sailors taking to the water each year, the safe passage of seafarers is as important as ever. The Royal Mint has honoured Trinity House with a £2 coin to celebrate its 500th anniversary. In their design, Joe Whitlock Blundell and David Eccles have captured the spirit of Trinity House with a lighthouse, the enduring symbol of safety on the seas.