The Royal Mint The Royal Mint Logo

Your basket 0 items

Can I use coinage from United Kingdom Overseas Territories?

Policy responsibility for the issue of coins in United Kingdom Overseas Territory rests with the Government of the territory concerned. It is customary for the obverse side of such coins to bear a portrait of Her Majesty the Queen. In addition, some Overseas Territories issue coins with the same physical specification as United Kingdom coins.

The coins of Overseas Territories are legal tender within the territory concerned. These coins sometimes find their way into circulation within the United Kingdom, but they are not legal tender within this country.

The United Kingdom Overseas Territories include:

British Antarctic Territory
British Indian Ocean Territory
British Virgin Islands
Cayman Islands
Falkland Islands
St Helena and Dependencies (Ascension Island and Tristan da Cunha)
Turk and Caicos Islands
Pitcairn Island
South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands